top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Lips Like Sugar, Echo & the Bunnymen, 1987


To all of the beautiful virgin souls discovering the magic of the 1980s for the first time: Welcome to your next worthy obsession. Say hello to Ian f*cking McCulloch and Echo & the Bunnymen. You're welcome. Cherish this spectacular gift from the universe. You deserve to know the Bunnymen because you are so uniquely you.


Here's a very special message for all you Bunnymen strangers: Open the door to this post-punk 80s world and be prepared to fall head over heels in love. Not just "in love," mind you -- madly, deeply, burning like a million embers IN LOVE for the rest of your days. I promise. To my fellow Bunnymen devotees, get lost down the rabbit hole -- I'll meet you there.


Listen ... it's more than OK to love all the superficial magic of the 1980s. It's more than OK to be so all about Fleetwood Mac and to fall in line as Stevie disciples. Trust me, I get it. I lived it real time and Stevie is forever my witchy gold dust fairy godmother.


Yay, classic rock -- sure -- but music of the 80s is so crazy diverse. We all embraced the power of black eyeliner, yall. Seriously. Lips Like Sugar is a great introduction to Echo & the Bunnymen -- so very not 80s classic rock. Now, go drown in Ian's big brown eyes and sultry tone. Go cry along with his words and do your little 80s hip sway to the sick Bunnymen beats.


1987 -- oh beautiful, glorious 1987 -- how I miss you. I'm close to calling it, y'all ... my mid-life crisis (ie Emmy's final girl run) is likely to be manifesting shades of Brit post-punk.


Happy Monday!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page