top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Rebel Girl, Bikini Kill, 1993


Girls to the front!


I've always had a love/hate relationship with Bikini Kill. Bless her -- she's an avid self-proclaimed non-fan of the "seminal" riot girl band and yet owns all their albums. Hmm. And, yes, she is referring to herself in third person. I bet Kathleen Hanna would love that about me.


It's been a few years now since I realized that "the lady doth protest too much" when it comes to being anti-Bikini Kill. Yeah. I love to hate Bikini Kill but my hate is a matter of principle, you see -- and it mostly centers on Kathleen Hanna. I love her voice but when Bikini Kill first came out, her "outrage" seemed so orchestrated, ya know? I mostly trust the sincerity of her motives but as the front woman of a feminist punk band, she seemed insincere and her stage antics always seemed like shtick to me. It's as if she was (and still is) on some bandwagon. Love me some Tobi Vail, though. Now she's a riot grrl.


Despite where I land (today) in my judgement of Kathleen Hanna, I dig Bikini Kill's music so much. It's undeniable. Le Tigre, too. I spin my Bikini Kill albums a lot -- like a lot a lot. It's a brand of feminist punk that really gets my blood pumping. After what happened Thursday night, Friday had to be a Bikini Kill day.


When she talks, I hear revolution.


Happy Saturday!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page