top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Hate to Say I Told You So, The Hives, 2000


This guitar riff has been ripping through my brain all morning. I'm not complaining but it took me a minute to place it. I kind of knew -- in that not knowing sort of way -- that the riff belonged to The Hives but it took me a minute to realize which song. First of all ... The Hives? Good one, subconscious. Secondly ... hate to say I told you so? Right, universe. Thanks for the support.


Mercy me. How great is this song? Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. This song cannot be (almost) 24 years old. No way, y'all. I'm forever stunned by how surreal the passage of time feels. Can we all agree it seems like yesterday that we first heard this song? This song turns me into a dancing maniac. Surrender.


Good golly! The Hives are always good for what ails me. These lyrics -- yes, please. Because I wanna. Because I'm gonna. Yes! Beautiful reminders via The Hives about the truth of free will. This song is a glorious adrenaline-fueled anthem that has picked me up off the floor more times than I can count -- this morning being no exception.


Just a little reminder to my fellow old people: It's up to us to teach the younguns about the great music of years past and we can't forget bands like The Hives. Garage rock? Bubblegum punk? Who cares about labels? Good music is good music. Spread the word.


Fingers crossed The Hives add a Nashville date to their North American tour this fall.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page