top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Know Your Rights, The Clash, 1982


This is a public service announcement with guitars!


My trauma response to my Monday morning anxiety is to crank The Clash to 11. You get it, right? What else can a girl do? Know Your Rights is easily top five best opening tracks on an album ever in the history of time. Fight me on it.


Let's talk about The Clash. Combat Rock was the first time I realized music could be a powerful weapon of change. I'll never forget the first time I heard Know Your Rights -- my math tells me I was probably 11 years old. Combat Rock was an awakening for me. It's safe to say that The Clash is the root of my fascination with politics and The Clash is surely the reason I studied political science in school.


Yep. This is another revelation in my life's book about the music that raised me. Madonna taught me about manipulation. Prince taught me about sex. The Police taught me about predators. Joe taught me to speak out against injustice in the world.


I'm feeling unusually defiant this morning. No clue why the puffed up fight or flight energy is brewing in the pit of my stomach -- maybe the universe is preparing me for something that's looming in my future. Yeah, I bet that's it -- It's internal foreshadowing. Possibly?


Come for me, world. I know my rights -- all three of them.


Happy Monday!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page