top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Change (In the House of Flies), Deftones, 2000


Change finds me when I least expect it -- like this morning. I wonder what's up with that. Have you listened to the Deftones lately? What a great band -- what an impressive body of work -- so underrated.


Change is heavy and deep -- it's a serious song, y'all. It's pretty soul-stirring and haunting, too. For me, Change keeps hitting me because I'm a huge Kafka fan. Remember the first time you read Metamorphosis? So eye-opening, right? I can't hear Change without thinking about Kafka's Metamorphosis and how the reality of life is beautifully bizarre.


It's so interesting how we're all individuals yet we're all so dependent on each other. Sure, we are autonomous but there's no escape from our actions (and thoughts) being influenced by others. Sometimes we forget how we affect others, too. Life is a web, you see. We're all connected.


I was never one dimensional and meant to simply exist inside societal roles. I was always more than the labels I was assigned along the way. I am what I am today and I will be something different tomorrow. Truth.


You watched me change. Now I feel so alive.


Happy Saturday!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page