top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Fire Woman, The Cult, 1989


Holy smokes at this song, y'all. (You see what I did there, right?) Have you ever come face-to-face with unadulterated sex personified? Yeah you have and this song is the soundtrack. Trust me. "Twistin' like a flame in a slow dance baby, you're driving me crazy." You know the feeling, right?


This is one of the greatest intros of all time -- fight me on it. It sounds like the wind feels when a storm is brewing. Better batten down the hatches, sailors. This intro has always felt like a dare to me. Who's in?


The Fire Woman intro is masterful and artistic foreplay. It has us all sitting at the starting line revving our engines raring to go. The frenzy builds. By the time we get the greenlight and Ian tells us to "shake, shake, shake, shake it, yeah," we're all in 1,000 percent -- dare accepted. Finally, the uninhibited release comes -- the song kicks in and we floor it. It's a wide open unapologectic adrenaline-fueled joy ride from there on out. Lord have mercy. Fire woman you're to blame.


I can't believe this didn't come out until 1989. My internal timeline of memories had it being much earlier in the history of me. I don't remember not knowing fire woman. Ian Astbury is everything. If you aren't wild-eyed and drenched in sweat with your heart racing and gasping for air by the outro fade, then you're not doing life right, friends.


Happy Monday!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page