top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

I Just Wanna Get Along, The Breeders, 1993


It's Gemini season, y'all. Have you hugged a Gemini lately? Big kiss for those of us who make your lives more interesting. Never a dull moment, ya know. Contradictory controlled chaos.


Speaking of ridiculous Gemini madness, I woke up to a wonderfully bizarre Deal twins mashup serenade. It's a Breeders snippet symphony with Drivin' on 9, No Aloha, and I Just Wanna Get Along melding together in this mini but oh so mega mashup chorus in my wacky Gemini brain.


The loop starts with the beboppy Americana fueled 50s nuclear family fake happiness horror of Drivin' on 9 and morphs into the trippy island sounding riffs of No Aloha complete with Kim singing my favorite line -- "motherhood means mental freeze." Then it becomes that bass heavy badness giving dangerous annoyance vibes of Kelley's eye-rolling plea -- "I just wanna get along."

So, apparently, it's a Last Splash day. I'm good with that -- Kim and Kelley Deal = literal Gemini twin icons.


Celebrate the season with your favorite Gemini today. Lauryn. Prince. Kendrick. Paul. Brian. Deal twins. Stevie. Lana. Kylie. Alanis. Tupac. Morrissey. Siouxsie. Dylan. Take your pick.

Happy Monday!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page