top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Be My Baby, The Ronettes, 1963


Some mean sounding thunder is shaking the house right now. It's jarring and harsh and violent. OK, OK, I'm awake. It's an odd, yet, somewhat apropos juxtaposition to have "Be My Baby" as my waking earworm. It actually makes perfect sense. Good morning, Ronnie, you gorgeous powerful force of nature -- sing to me your strength.


Is this the greatest pop song ever? Debatable, right? Brian Wilson, of the Beach Boys, thinks so and he's a bona-fide musical genius. Obsessed. I do truly, madly, deeply love this song, y'all. Ronnie's voice is everything. It's so expressive and honest -- there is an ease to her storytelling. It's uninhibited. She's living the words.


I think it's so weird and completely cool how this quintessential 1960s girl group -- the Ronettes -- is named for the lead singer Veronica ... Ronnie. My girl group will definitely be called The Monettes. Bank.


I'm "this close" to being 53. I have a laundry list of non-negotiable things I don't want in life. I still don't know what I want in life, though, and that's OK. I follow in Ronnie's footsteps by living, learning, loving, and shaking off the dust when necessary but I'm 99.9% certain forming a girl group isn't in my future. Never say never, right? Who knows. Apparently, I'm the queen of reinvention.


The storm has passed and the birds are singing -- such is life.


Happy Saturday!







7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page