top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Not an Addict, K's Choice, 1995


Hello there, albatross. Nice to have you hanging around my neck and ringing in my ears this morning. Thanks for reminding me who I am. Of all the songs that serve as my constant unwavering companions in life, this one is perhaps the most powerful weapon in that beautiful arsenal. It is the truth found in lies. It is the strength found in weakness. It is the control found in surrender. It is safety found in fear.


For more than 29 years now, Sam's voice is the only soothing remedy for that one relentless aching pain that will forever live deep in my soul. Try it. Hear it? Listen. Sam sees you and sings this for you. All these years now, I thought it was the haunting pain of unrequited love he was soothing for me. I thought I was addicted to that pain. Turns out, I hurt for someone I never knew.


As I embrace self discovery and travel this path toward enlightenment in my 50s, I am constantly reminded of my near fatal flaws. I have a very addictive personality -- I've always known that to be true. Thankfully, I overcompensate with a hyper-controlling nature. That's a healthy trade off. There's so much work to be done.


Here's to feeling alive.

Happy Saturday!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page