top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Ordinary World, Duran Duran, 1992


Ordinary World has been running circles in my ears for days now -- what a great song. At first, it triggered a bout with melancholia. After all, it's about the tragic loss of a friend, right? Yes. The beauty of this song, though, is in finding the strength to carry on in a way that honors the past without being dragged into a dwell. This song fills me with gratitude for the human experience. I'm so thankful to have this song stuck in my head -- I'm learning how to survive.


The more I learn about myself, the more I realize how I self-soothe with music. In times of distress, I am most comforted by the music of my youth. The Cars, Prince, The Police, R.E.M., Heart, The Bangles, Metallica, The B-52s and yes, Duran Duran have all rocked me gently this week as I deal with unpleasant things that demand my attention.


No matter our jobs, or our ages, or our backgrounds, isn't it funny how we're all just people. We're so very much the same and yet couldn't be more different one to the other. We all have a limited time on this planet -- the ticking clock is the great equalizer -- and we all choose very different ways to use this finite amount of time we're gifted.


Watch the Duran Duran doc on Netflix, y'all.


Happy Saturday!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page