top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Dust in a Baggie, Billy Strings, 2013


I'm experiencing a heavy I can't win for losing phase and Billy Strings' Dust in a Baggie has taken over as my own personal ill-fated theme song. No, "my life of sin hasn't got me in" to the same degree as what Billy laments but he still knows me oh too well. Lord knows "sometimes I sit and wonder where my little life went wrong."


I love bluegrass -- it's emotion-driven storytelling, y'all. There's an undeniable authentic energy in bluegrass that isn't dependent upon lyrics. Right? The lyrics almost always seem central, yet secondary, in all my favorite bluegrass songs. It's the music that moves the story forward at a clipping, unstoppable pace and the lyrics are just along for the ride. Ahhh. Such is life, my friends.


Isn't it funny how even the most tragic and heartbreaking situation can feel ridiculously positive when portrayed in a bluegrass song? Think about it. Is it just me or does the standard bluegrass formula provide an almost animated soundtrack to life's misery? I know that's why Billy has been my companion this week. My life is a disaster and sometimes I do feel ashamed -- Billy sees me -- but I choose to laugh instead of crying.


I asked for it -- I made my bed and I lie in it (just a little nod to the 30th anniversary of LTT, IYKYK).


Happy Saturday! All hail Billy Strings.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page