top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: Apr 14

Queen of the Pirates, Louise Post, 2023


Listen. Do you hear it? Weezie wrote this one for me. LFP has been my constant companion this week as I've simultaneously battled the blues and staved off spring fever and this is my current walk-up song. Thank you universe for the seether.


Every single syllable of this song is pure feminine empowerment. The entire song is absolutely saturated with the definitive intent to rule the world, baby. If you know me at all, you'll have no trouble guessing my favorite part. Yes, that's right, zero. Sure, it's a catchy, fun, doowoppy song but it's also a threat -- don't get in my way. Summon me.


I'm living a completely immersive Louise Post existence right now. What an absolutely brilliant songwriter, y'all. (This is what you do with an English degree.) I'm counting the days until I get to stand in her presence again and figuratively throw roses at her feet.


I could (and probably should) wax poetic for hours on the deeply ingrained gender injustice of the music industry but instead, let me just simply encourage you to listen to Louise's new album, Sleepwalker. Let the music speak for itself.


Happy Saturday!


18 more sleeps until LFP.





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page