top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Let Me Entertain You, Robbie Williams, 1997


This one goes out to all my fellow rocking memaws and papaws out there. Hey, thank you subconscious for this morning's earworm, this song is the perfect salute to how old age has affected my concept of being entertained. "I'm a burning effigy of everything I used to be." Right, Robbie?


It's down to the last two days of spring break and I haven't done a single thing I had planned. When I heard this song yesterday, I chuckled. No, really, I definitely chuckled. How this week has played out feels like a pretty big turning point in my life -- have I become the rock of empathy Robbie sings about in this song? Who's gonna be my rock of ages?


The universe is full on laughing at my supposed spring break fail because it knows I'm actually over the need for constant entertainment. The go is still in my blood but lately, it's losing out to my need to just be still. Now that's entertainment -- shake your ass and come over here.


Happy Saturday!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page