top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: Apr 28

Connection, Elastica, 1995


Yes. There is always a song in my head. Yes. As I'm going through my daily motions and completing life's tasks at hand, I am always on the verge of breaking into that song. Yes. Riding on any wave is the luck I crave -- thank you, Elastica, a connection is made.


This one stays in heavy rotation and has a permanent spot of my all-time favorites playlist. Connection is one of the coolest songs ever, y'all. Fight me on it. Hear that jaunty little new wave punk groove? Yeah. That's everything -- give in and dance. That's pure 90s attitude that demands you sing along in your best Brit accent. Challenge accepted. Forget it.


Life is all about connections and feeling connected. Whether it's your coworkers, your friends and family or that person you share a quick smile with at your favorite shopping spot, you know when a connection is made and it feels oh so good.


I live for feeling connected to people, places, and thing. Being hyperaware of connections and leaning into them helps give my life a deeper meaning/purpose. But, that's just me -- everything has to have a why.


One of my favorite people I connect with apologized to me recently for having an amazing partner and a satisfying marriage. I was taken aback. I assured her there was no need to feel apologetic toward me for her happiness and fulfillment. It's not a zero sum game -- her loving marriage doesn't diminish my chances of having the same someday. Seeing her relationship actually gives me hope that one day I'll have that connection, too.


Fingers crossed that meaningful connections will keep coming my way.


Happy Saturday!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page