top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

You Never Can Tell, Chuck Berry, 1964


This week's earworm comes with an iconic visual courtesy of John Travolta and Uma Thurman. Can you see it? It's Mia Wallace and Vincent Vega doing the coolest super intense yet calmly therapeutic dirty little twist imaginable. Let go. Ahh, good ole 1994.


"C'est la vie say the old folks, you never can tell." As songs go, this one could very well be about my life, ya know.


So ... I have not been fun to be around this week at all. I know it's true. I saw it happening every single day and it was simply out of my control. All I can do is apologize for being extremely short-tempered and extremely too honest about way too many things.


This growing old thing doesn't come with a manual and it's sure not one size fits all. I'm not aging gracefully, y'all. Sure, I'm on top of my game emotionally -- absolute pinnacle, actually -- but more often than not, I'm feeling physically out-of-sorts. Not good for a big ole control freak like me. Hey -- sincere thank you to the patriarchy, btw, for controlling medicine/doctoring/healthcare/information/everything since the beginning of time and keeping me shockingly unprepared to navigate nature. Good job.


PS: John Travolta turned 70 this past month. It's absolutely a Pulp Fiction Saturday for sure. I'll need that $5 milkshake now, please.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page