top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Rebel Heart, First Aid Kit, 2018


OK universe, I get it; you win. Message received -- it's all because of my rebel heart. Ain't that an undeniable truth? Why do I keep dreaming of you?

Music is the pulse of my life. I am a creature of habit and the most important part of my Monday-Friday life is choosing the tunes to spin start my day. This week, First Aid Kit served me well. I bet I've listened to the Swedish indie folk duo's 2018 album, Ruins, no less than 30 times the past five days. Yes, please, forever.


Like many other US First Aid Kit fans, the sisters had me at 2012's Emmylou. It's not common knowledge but I'll be your Emmylou, ya know.

I've seen Johanna and Klara live twice now. Most recently in 2018 at the Ryman with one of my most treasured lifelong friends. The first time was 2015 at an outdoor (July in Alabama) music festival. The goddesses had the brutal mid-afternoon slot but gave a killer performance to the few dozen of us fans who were actually there to see them. Absolutely amazing performers, y'all. It's past time to see them again.


I am an utter fool for harmony. These sisters embody the ethereal beauty that is the inexplicable magic of familial harmony. It's more than that, though, their souls are connected in a way that comes through in the music.


Happy Saturday and listen to First Aid Kit.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page