top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Genius of Love, Tom Tom Club, 1981


Genius of Love is a living song, ya know? It's so alive. It's absolutely representative of the multiplicity of life. It celebrates being many many things all at once. From the poetic, spoken word, rap-like lyrics and digitally-driven pop bop walk along to Tina Weymouth's incomparable bass line groove and sexy cooing -- I'm in heaven.


Genius of Love is art. It's one of my all-time favorite songs -- I could loop it for days at a time. It has this quirky New York new wave quality that still feels cool and experimental and new even after four+ decades. Yeah, it has this magically unique quality of still sounding/feeling fresh while existing as a nostalgic almost anachronistic anthem of the 1980s. How is that even possible? Or, does it make complete sense? I think I am Genius of Love.


There's nothing new under the sun, right? Genius of Love has been sampled a lot. I get it -- it's iconic. There's just nothing like it. I'm feeling as if I've been sampled a lot. What is that adage about imitation being the highest form of flattery?


What you gonna do when you get out of jail? I'm gonna have some fun. Good riddance work week -- at least for two days.


Watch the Genius of Love video and listen to Tom Tom Club.


Happy Saturday!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page