top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Wave of Mutilation, Pixies, 1989


It makes me laugh that this song was planted as my earworm this past weekend when I saw Lisa Frankenstein and that it ended up being the theme song of my entire work week. Don't get me wrong, I'm OK with that because I live for the Pixies and as it turned out, Wave was more than fitting for this week's relentless challenges of my work life. Absolute perfection actually. I've kissed mermaids and rode the El Nino, y'all.


Thank you universe for the Pixies -- the musical equivalent of my bestie. Thank you universe for my actual bff's steadfast patience, love, and support but most of all, thank you for the (sometimes brutal/sometimes warm and fuzzy) honesty. Both -- the Pixies and my bff -- always there when I need them.


Excellent use of Wave in Lisa Frankenstein, btw. Go see it, y'all. Have a little fun. All hail Diablo Cody. I'm so all about the 80s right now. Comforting nostalgia at its best.


You know, Wave of Mutilation could very well be the title of my memoir. Hmm. That's going on the short list.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page