top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

So It Goes, Mac Miller, 2018


It's finally Saturday and boy oh boy I'm here for it. It was a long challenging week and Mac carried me through the past few days. Do you ever do that? Does the song in your head become your clapback track for the little fires of the day?


This track serves me well over and over with its almost apologetic tone of self-sabotage shrouded by an empowering celebratory vibe of dismissive strength, and staunch perseverance. "Everybody gather round -- I'm still standing, sit down." Yeah. Life's been feeling a little like that lately.


It's so hard to not get heartsick when I listen to Mac. I ache over his tragic demise. It may be a little too honest to admit but part of me loves listening to Mac even more now because it's a deeper kind of listening. I feel even more for Mac and his music now. You know what I mean? I think I hear Mac better now. I have to really really focus and listen in order to let the songs speak louder than his reality. I get lost in his lyrics and a song becomes a whole mood -- listening to Mac is bigger now because it has to be in order to quieten his tragedy for me. Maybe Mac's songs silence this walking talking tragedy that is me. Hmm.


"The grass is always greener til I cut it." Brilliant. God I love this song.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page