top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Bobby Sox, Green Day, 2024


It finally happened. The new Green Day album, Saviors, came out yesterday. I admit, after surviving the Deep South snow stress of this week, Saviors dropped just in time to umm ... save me. Thank you, universe, I accept this reward for my (successful) extreme adulting efforts from the past five+ days.


You know what I love? I love that Billie Joe Armstrong is my age. He's proven to be true blue naturally cool. Authentic. I am so proud to have him, Mike, and Tre as my contemporaries. I'm super good with them representing my generation. Billie Joe doesn't get enough credit as a songwriter, y'all -- that's just the truth. There's so much heart in what these guys put into their unique version of punk. The message is always there and it's heavy and timely yet easy to swallow. It's not a coincidence that this is an election year, you know.


You know what I love? I love that this album is worthy of a trio who has played together for almost 35 years. I love that this album is solid and worthy of their iconic discography. It's really good, y'all. It's quintessential Green Day and like 'em or not, Green Day never fails at being Green Day. Truthfully, I've been super excited about this drop but I managed my expectations. It feels so good to be pleasantly surprised by No. 14. Saviors is chock full of good tracks but Bobby Sox is my new best ~ earworm ~ friend.


Looking forward to the Nashville show. C'mon summer.


Happy Saturday!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page