top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: May 19, 2021

Nothing Compares 2 U, Prince, 1993


It's been 7 hours and 13 days ... actually, it's been some odd hours and 22 days since I've had a turntable at home.


Sorry, I was sitting around yesterday fantasizing about the album-listening marathon I'm going to have when my new turntable comes in (hopefully, this week) and my mind went to the opening of Nothing Compares 2 U. And, I'm going to take this moment to brag on myself for the amount of restraint I show by NOT posting about Prince daily.


Sure, someone else had a huge hit with this Prince song first. And, it was so good -- iconic even. But Prince's version of his own song is so much more.


Lord help me, Prince evokes emotions in me that transcend any other reaction I have to any other music. He was the living, breathing epitome of cool. He was genuis. He was, I think, the most (complete) true artist and entertainer to ever exist. He was pure, unapologetic sex appeal backed by a joy-filled, experimental and expansive working talent.


I thank the stars most every day that Prince was not only a prolific songwriter but he was also a prolific song-maker. His catalog is so deep -- thank you!


https://youtu.be/1NarDEEhOsM




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page