top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

The Killing Moon, Echo & the Bunnymen, 1984

I live within eyesight and earshot of a busy major highway. I'm not a big fan of being grounded, but it sure is nice when everyone decides to stay put and the non-stop traffic stops for a few hours. I slept so good last night ... the quiet is good for sleeping but it's also super creepy. It's no surprise that I woke up with this song in my head. After all, isn't The Killing Moon the walk up song of the apocalypse?


No two ways about it, this is one of the greatest songs ever. Ever. Fight me on it. Maybe it's the Donnie Darko connection that came later, IDK, but somewhere along the way this song became my "all hope is lost but I'm genuinely OK" song. It's not sad or morbid, oh no, this song is peace and joy. It's all about giving in to destiny -- to fate. It's about getting past the wasted effort of a futile struggle. Lord help me, it's taken me 40 years to realize it but this song is about the calm and beauty of acceptance. Give me strength to truly accept things out of our control.


Hello, snow. If you don't know Echo & the Bunnymen, this snow day is the perfect opportunity to remedy that situation.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page