top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: Jan 14

Midnight on the Interstate, Trampled By Turtles, 2012


Some songs have an immediate effect on me. This is one of those songs. A soothing sense of calm washes over me the nanosecond I recognize that first chord. It makes me think about that someone who I would go to the ends of the earth to have a few hours of their time. I've been there -- midnight on the interstate -- letting my starry-eyed anticipation fill the sails of my second wind. "Love and love and nothing else it's all I need."


There's an absolutely beautifully profound feeling of complete satisfaction that comes from listening to a shuffled playlist of my favorite songs. I really need a show to look forward to, though -- Slowdive in May is all that's on my docket right now. I saw where TBT is playing the Railbird Festival in Lexington, KY. The lineup is pretty good, too -- Katie Pruitt, Hailey Whitters, and Allison Russell have my attention. Not a bad price for the weekend pass, not a bad drive, either. It's that June 1st date that sucks the fun out of that scenario. Hard pass -- old lady in self preservation mode over here.


Speaking of precarious situations, who's got it on today's to-do list to make some preparations for the snow days/single-digit temps in the forecast? I never thought I would be praying for "no rolling blackouts" -- super stoked to have that on my bingo card now.


Happy Saturday!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page