top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Nobody Told Me, John Lennon, 1984


I realized last night that I've been divorced for 16 years. Wow. That's a long time. I've been divorced one year shy of how long I was married. It's so weird to think about -- I was (primarily) somebody's daughter for 19 years. Then, I was (primarily) somebody's wife for 17 years. Now, here I am on the precipice of being on my own for a longer stretch of time than either of those chapters. It feels good.


Strange days indeed.


Sure, I love these lyrics -- who doesn't, right? I think about this song all the time. After all, it's classic John just talking/sorta preaching to all of us, ya know. Yes, this is poignant John storytelling at its finest but there's so much more to this song. I love the story of this song's journey to make it to our ears -- it was a long and winding road (sorry, it had to be done 😁). I love that this is a song from my youth, too. That's kind of remarkable.


I share John's lament pretty dang often in both good and not so good situations -- nobody told me there'd be days like these. You can't really prepare for life, can we? We just have to live it as it unfolds.


Happy Saturday!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page