top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Secret, Madonna, 1994


I'm so grateful that my subconscious planted this song in my brain this week. "Happiness lies in your own hand." Absolutely apropos. This song reminds me how important it is to love myself. Seems simple, right? I admit, though, it's often easier said than done for me.


It's no secret. I've learned more than a few lessons the hard way. Until this past year, learning lessons the hard way was the norm in my world. It has taken work, but I'm finally learning how to get out of my own way and it feels good.


There's still work to be done but today I bask in the joy of a surreal accomplishment. I'm overwhelmed with pride. I have achieved something for me -- ME -- maybe for the first time in my entire life. I needed this. I wanted this. Me.


I'll leave you with these iconic words of wisdom from RuPaul: If you don't love yourself, how the hell you gonna love somebody else? Can I get an amen?


Happy graduation Saturday!



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page