top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Sepsis, Blondshell, 2023


I simply can't get enough of this artist right now. Blondshell opened for Liz Phair on Monday night at the Ryman and she had me at Veronica Mars, IYKYK. Her set flowed through every track from her new (2023) album plus a cover -- with Samia (another rising young artist) as a special guest on stage --- of LeTigre's Deceptacon. Knockout punch after knockout punch -- I was absolutely blown away. Stunned by her vocals, songwriting, and natural stage presence.


You have to listen to Blondshell's self-titled album start to finish. You just do. It's so good. I was pleasantly surprised (and validated) to see it Thursday on RS's Top 100 Albums of 2023 at No. 11. Yep. 11 out of 100. It's really good, y'all.


I went into the show knowing nothing at all about Blondshell. I know, not my usual research girl MO but I'm trying to do better about chilling on all the prep work in life and just live in the moment. I can't recall having ever been so completely in the immediate thrall of a previously unknown to me band/artist before. It was intoxicating. Super excited to have a new artist to grow with.


Happy Saturday!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page