top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

You Hoo, Imperial Teen, 1999


She said yoo-hoo.


I was 28 years old in 1999. I was still the new kid on the block at the TimesDaily -- my first fulltime job after finally finishing my undergrad degree. I was also taking MA classes at UAH. You see, my TD job was only supposed to be temporary while I finished my master's.


Yeah. Back then, "taking classes" meant arranging life to accommodate the class meeting time and physically sitting in a classroom on campus (in Huntsville). Not convenient at all. Oh, and, I was also a wife and the mother of an eight and three year old. Turns out, it was too inconvenient and too impossible.


It was just too much. I couldn't do it. Dropping out of that MA program was the first time in my life I realized I literally couldn't do something. I had to accept that I had been fed a lie -- everything is not possible with hard work and perseverance ... or is it?


Flash forward 24 years and here I am just weeks away from finishing my master's. Timing is everything.


She said yoo-hoo.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page