top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Song About an Angel, Sunny Day Real Estate, 1994


I am an angel and this is my song. Not really, but I don't hate the idea of being an angel like the one immortalized in this song. Unrequited love is my middle name.


Angel or not, I absolutely love this song and it is most definitely about me. It is written in my language -- "sometimes you see right through me." I love this line -- "you are married to your pain." It's so bizarre how this song's meaning to me has adapted and shifted and evolved to be relevant and treasured in all the seasons of my life.


I remember the first time I heard Sunny Day Real Estate. "Diary" blew me away -- I was instantly connected and I knew I had a soul mate. SDRE was just so different from everything else out at the time. The music has this haunting, irresistible pull. Listening to it is like letting your guard down and bearing your soul to a trusted confidant. Who knew "Diary" would end up being hailed as the birth of Emo. Stupid labels.


Happy Saturday! Send me good vibes -- deadline looms.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page