top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Close to You, Carpenters, 1970


If you know me at all, you know I'm obsessed with Karen Carpenter's voice. I am a lifelong fan and can never get my fill of her rich, soothing contralto. Last night, I was thinking about one of my favorite people and big shocker, this song came to mind. It's so interesting how some people typify this song. For me, it's rare, but the couple of people who spark the level of favor in me that's described in this song never seem to lose their magic. I don't know the why for any of it. Life is such a mystery.


Speaking of life's mysteries, what a really, truly weird week it has been. In just the past few days, apparently, we've accelerated past ghosts, goblins and all things spooky right smack dab into the middle of jingle bells and the annual holly jolly overload.


Proof: I heard one of my favorite Christmas songs on the radio this week -- Merry Christmas, Darling by The Carpenters. No, seriously, one of our local radio stations switched to an all Christmas format at noon on Halloween. You heard me right. Once I accepted the gross malfeasance, I was grateful for the one good thing that came of it -- a Karen Carpenter appreciation session and ultimately, today's earworm.


Happy Saturday! Watch Everything Now on Netflix.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page