top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


one life, might live, Little Simz, 2020


One of the most beautiful things in life is hearing the perfect song at the absolute perfect time. I love this song and I love Little Simz but hearing it on the way home Thursday made me cry a little.


This is not really a sad song. If anything, until Thursday, this song had always served me as a "you can do this" anthem. It's one of my go-to kick in the ass anthems that's been in heavy rotation the past few years. Thursday, though, singing the line about being better off by yourself choked me up. One life, might live ... am I destined to be alone? Waterworks.


I love how a song I've listened to hundreds of times can reveal itself as a song I'm hearing for the first time. Great songwriters are such a gift to the world. Sometimes, if we're paying attention, a song gives us a magic mirror that somehow makes it possible for us to truly see ourselves.


Happy Saturday!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page