top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Vampire, Olivia Rodrigo, 2023


I can't get over how good this song is, y'all. Every single lyric is perfection. I just love Olivia Rodrigo's voice and the power she finds in vulnerability and truth.


So, let's talk about Olivia Rodrigo (again) ... daughter goals, y'all. Her raising obviously included an infusion of Emmy-approved musical influences for sure. Thank you, Rodrigo parents. Good job.


I find so much of new music right now to be heavily influenced by the music that made me. So much so that songs are becoming instant classics for me -- those first listen songs that go straight to the heavy rotation playlist.


Most of my contemporaries don't give new pop a fighting chance. I get it. Somewhere along the way as we age, we begin to hold fast to the music that made us. That's all well and good but I can't imagine ever limiting myself in such a way.


Y'all know I'm a huge fan of Olivia's first album, Sour. This sophomore album, Guts, that just came out a few weeks ago ... well, I think it's maybe even better.


Listen to Guts. Listen to Sour. Both albums are complete listens. They flow just right and there isn't a throwaway track to be found.


Happy Saturday!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page