top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Cornflake Girl, Tori Amos, 1994


If I sat down and made a list of the most influential songs in my life, this one would likely rank in the top five. Tori Amos has a voice that demands attention. It's unsettling to me but in a cathartic sort of way. This song is an absolutely beautifully odd work of art. It's just as intriguing to me today as it was the first time I heard it so many years ago.


Even if you only take this song at surface value, it's so hypnotic and so powerful. If you do more than just sing the words, though -- if you ponder the lyrics -- this song is life-changing. Well, at least that's how I "see" it. I bet this song means something different to every single person who loves it. How cool is that? It's so very interesting.


We all know cornflake girls. Look in the mirror -- is a cornflake girl staring back at you? What are you going to do about that? Come to the other side. Join the raisins.


Peal out the watchword. Count me out. We're all mad here. The denouement of Cornflake Girl sounds like I feel when I'm so close to losing it and I'm fully aware that I'm barely hanging on.


Happy Saturday!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page