top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Unpretty, TLC, 1999


Here lately, the universe keeps reminding me how important it is to surround myself with positive, supportive people. When I heard this song yesterday, it flipped the "amen" switch in me. The things we say and how we say them are so important. How we treat others is so very important. There is no reason to choose to disrespect each other instead of lifting up each other. Can I get an amen?


I just don't have the time or energy for people who take pleasure in fanning the flames of negatively. We should extend grace to each other -- unpretty is as unpretty does.


This song has one of my favorite opening lyrics, "I wish I could tie you up in my shoes." That's just so cool. This song/poem is so honest and vulnerable. It has the power to evoke self-reflection. I love this line, too: my outsides look cool -- my insides are blue. Great songwriting. TLC doesn't get enough credit, y'all.


Happy Saturday!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page