top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Barbie Girl, Aqua, 1997


This song makes me smile and giggle. On occasion, it even makes me want to applaud -- it deserves a nice poetic slow clap, don't you think? Yep, Barbie Girl feeds my old sardonic feminist heart. What a great example of using bubblegum pop to disguise a message. And ... in walks one of my heros, Greta Gerwig, to elevate the commentary. Thank you.


Here's the thing: I am 95% certain that I never had a Barbie. I had a Bionic Woman doll and a Darci doll but not Barbie and not Ken. I don't know why I wasn't a Barbie girl. I didn't really play with dolls. Growing up, unless it was storming, I was outside. What would have been my Barbie years were spent playing baseball, riding bicycles, and playing in the woods.


When weather forced me inside, I was reading, writing, and listening to music. It's funny because I spent more time developing character profiles and writing scripts for my dolls than I did actually playing with them. Writing this now, I'm realizing that I seriously missed my calling. I should have followed my heart -- I should have been a writer.


Oh, well. Back to the salt mines.


Happy Monday!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page