top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Last Dance, Donna Summer, 1978


This song sounds like how most of my days feel. It starts out all slow and easy and quickly morphs into a full-on high-energy explosive dance fest.


Donna Summer has been stalking me for a while now. It all started the Christmas of 1978 when I was gifted "Disco Fire," a compilation LP. Those tracks helped shape who I am and "I Feel Love" was my favorite. It's a little bizarre but I've been a Donna Summer fan since age 7.


I'm a documentary fiend and I think the subtle beginning of this most recent Donna stalk can track back to when I watched "Love to Love you, Donna Summer" a few months ago. Then, on a recent trip to one of my favorite record stores -- Vertical House in Huntsville -- the "Summer, Donna" bin divider/placard made me smile. I even snapped a pic of it to serve as a reminder to look up one of my fave Cheri Oteri SNL skits. (Remember, simmer down now?) Then, I was watching The Idol and Donna Summer was referenced as direction because of her sexually infused voice.


Yesterday, when my favorites playlist played this, I took notice and listened to the universe. I get it ... its's my last chance. So let's dance. God I love this song.


Happy Monday!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page