top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Voices Carry, Til Tuesday, 1985


I remember the first time I saw this video. I was only 14 years old and yet I completely related to the patriarchal oppressive theme of the video. Almost 40 years and a lifetime of inequality later, the video moves me to tears.


I have spent my entire adult life finding my voice. As an independent, strong-willed, intelligent, hard-working and ravishingly beautiful woman, I have spent my entire life learning how and when to use my voice. I know the value of my voice and no one speaks for me. When necessary, I speak for myself.


My voice is not one of privilege. It's my experience that voices coming from a place of privilege are weighted with fear and fear makes people reckless and careless with the lives of others. No, thank you. Stop the gaslighting.


All hail Aimee Mann. Smash the patriarchy.


Happy Monday/pre-July Fourth day!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page