top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: May 19, 2021

Cover Me Up, Jason Isbell, 2013


This past week, an older friend of mine asked me this: Who’s the better songwriter, Isbell or Zevon? Without hesitation, I said, “Isbell.” It took me about a beat before I felt the need to qualify my answer because it felt like sacrilege. Sometimes I feel the same way here in our group – just because something is “classic” doesn’t automatically make it better than something contemporary.


In response to that question, of course I’m going to say Isbell … he’s literally from where I’m from and he’s of my generation. In essence, his stories are my stories. I’m an OK fan of Warren Zevon – Excitable Boy is one of my favorite albums to spin – but I don’t even think about him in the same way I think of Jason Isbell. That’s my personal perspective.


It’s not my favorite Isbell song but Cover Me Up, I think, is his signature song ... his “instant classic.” I do love it. It’s a great song no matter who sings it – case in point, the Morgan Wallen debacle. It must be frustrating, in a way, to be a songwriter. Maybe even worse than killing your darlings.


As albums go, Isbell's Southeastern is solid from start to finish. A stellar catalog, actually, as a whole. Looking back, Isbell's writing as a young man in the Drive-by Truckers was impressive but seeing him grow into a respected songwriter has been remarkable.


https://youtu.be/NaUCDqWzy1k



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page