top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Without Us, Deniece Williams & Johnny Mathis, 1978


My brain and heart are tired, y'all. Here's an unsolicited pro tip from a jaded old lady: the grass is never greener on the other side. Never. Sure, it may be a different shade of green but still green nonetheless. I've spent a lifetime learning to accept and roll with all the shades of green.


When I get overwhelmingly tired like this, I always escape to the soothing agents of my youth -- 1980s music, movies, and TV shows. My go-to for a few weeks now has been Family Ties. Such a great show. So funny but filled with yummy substance. Remember? Remember this song -- the Family Ties theme song? I still think it's so cool when a show uses a "real" song for its theme song. I feel as if it was pretty common in the 1980s.


Anyway. This song has been rattling around in my brain this week and I have a new appreciation for it as a "real" song. Maybe it's because we've been together for a million years. Sha la la la.


Happy Saturday!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page