top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Miles, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, 2023


I live for mini road trips. I'm so grateful to live in the Shoals for oh so many reasons but physical location ranks pretty high on that list. We're positioned perfectly, y'all-- Huntsville, Nashville, Birmingham, Tuscaloosa, Memphis, Atlanta -- they're all just a short drive away. Even the beach ... give me a pretty day, great tunes, and my traveling companion du jour and I'm raring to go. This past week, the "great tunes" part has been the new Jason Isbell album, Weathervanes, on repeat.


For me, one of the best feelings in the world is when a favorite artist of mine drops a new album. That first listen to the entire album is a special experience. An even better feeling is when you love every single track on that new album. That doesn't happen too often but when it does -- and I'm still listening to it start to finish a week later -- that's good stuff.


It's an extremely rare occurrence but all the Weathervanes tracks are my favorites right now. It's been a very long time since I felt so connected to an album. "Strawberry Woman" is the track in my head but I can't stop thinking about what it will be like to see "Miles" live. Speaking of seeing the guys live, good vibes going out to Jimbo Hart.


Listen to Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit today, y'all.


Happy Monday -- Juneteenth!












1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page