top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

I'll Wait, Van Halen, 1984


My nostalgia for the 1980s comes around ever so often and I've been feeling some sentimental love for Van Halen for a few months now. It's funny, I take Van Halen for granted. Eddie and the boys have just always been part of my life. I've never really even thought twice about it. Am I a fan? Of course I am, but in a different way than I am for other artists. I love all the albums. I love all the songs. It's just a given. It's the 80s code of conduct.


Yes. I scrawled "VH" on every school notebook I ever had. Yes. I was there to watch Diamond Dave shine in the Mtv era. Yes. I didn't bat an eye when Sammy took over. When it comes to Van Halen, I'm more than just a fan -- Van Halen is my dear old friend. Granted, an old friend who still rocks so very hard. Those are few a far between.


This is one of my favorite Van Halen songs. 1984 was the first album I bought with my own money. Wow, what an album. It's still one of my favorite go-to listens. This song still stops me in my tracks.


Happy Saturday!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page