top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Taste It, Jake Bugg, 2012


"I can taste it -- in my mouth it's just so bittersweet." I've been "hearing" this lyric in my head all week long. Bittersweet. What a great word. So very much in life feels absolutely bittersweet. Such as, the radiant joy of everyday living that is always intermingled with a tinge of heartache -- that's bittersweet, my friends. Aging/the passing of time is bittersweet.


I don't know how it can be true but I promise, I've learned more about myself these past two years than I have in the other 50 years of my life combined. You know, I walk the line on this aging thing. It's bittersweet to say the least. For me so far, my 50s have been enlightening -- very much a reckoning. A time of being happy instead of trying to be happy. "Never looking down, I've never felt more alive. Journey's going fast ... "


I can't remember who turned me on to Jake Bugg back in the day but I'm so glad they did. He's a Brit and this song was on his debut album that came out while he was still a teenager. Such a great album. He's still making good music but his first album is next level. Listen to it.


Happy Saturday!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page