top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Get Lucky (ft. Pharrell Williams & Nile Rodgers), Daft Punk, 2013


This song has the power to instantaneously transport me back in time. I will never not love this song. Holy smokes at Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers -- oh the talent. Wait ... oh my gosh, has it really been 10 years since Daft Punk's last (final) album? I'm telling you, kids, getting older means you blink and a decade has passed.


I hear this song and I'm, umm, 42 again. Yeah, 42. My goodness, I'm funny ... and old. Yeah, I hear this and I feel 42 again. This song was everywhere, remember? I hear this and I think about being the sprite young age of 42 and driving late at night.  -- getting off work after second shift trying to cull together a semblance of a life that was more than eat, sleep, work. Up all night to get lucky. Oh the irony.


This song knew 2013 Monica so well -- (literally) up all night for good fun. Now, if I'm up past midnight, I can guarantee that it's not by choice and it's definitely not in the name of good fun.


Happy Memorial Day!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page