top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Hold Me Now, Thompson Twins, 1983


When I hear this song, I am 12 again. I remember the first time I saw the video on Mtv -- I was all in. Sure, it's an infectious (and interesting) pop/synth song that is dripping with 80s post punk new wave swagger but it's so much more. When I hear this song, I see this song. Same for pretty much every other single from the Mtv heyday ... I can't not "see" Hold Me Now when I hear it. Such a cool video. The new wave Brits were just the coolest. I wanted to be Alannah Currie.


From its very super recognizable first note, this song saves me. Yep. The right song at the right time can snap me out of a funk like nothing else. It's so encouraging when the universe sends the right song out of the blue via the radio station I listen to at work. I love it when that happens. This song will forever be the right song at the right time. I love everything about it -- I love how it makes me feel. I have a picture pinned to my wall ...


Happy Saturday sing-along!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page