top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

What's New Pussycat, Tom Jones, 1965


True confession: Sometimes when you're talking, I'm looking at you and I'm listening -- I'm totally engaged in what you're saying, I promise -- but "What's New Pussycat" is looping in my brain. Wait ... what's that you're saying with your cute little pussycat nose? Yeah. You and your big little pussycat eyes. My brain works in mysterious ways. I kind of love me, though.


What a gloriously fabulous ridiculously dramatic fun fun fun song. I love it. When I hear it, the world stops and every care melts away for 2 minutes and 18 seconds. Joy. Satisfaction. Singing and smiling and dreaming of your sweet little pussycat lips. One of the best endings to a song, too. It's as if ole Tom is singing the final line of an aria or something. Iconic. Love love love.


It's so weird/cool that it was written for a movie -- I never think of the song in that context.


Happy Saturday!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page