top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Morning Song, The Avett Brothers, 2013


This song has kept me grounded this week. It's pretty magical how a song about being on the brink of giving up can also be one of the most hopeful songs I've ever heard. It perfectly captures that feeling of digging in for one more round of battling what you're afraid may be a lost cause.


I love The Avett Brothers. "Magpie and the Dandelion" is a pretty perfect album -- listen to it. The Avetts (and co.) are natural talents and honest songwriters -- gifted, passionate storytellers -- who know how to use music and composition as part of the narrative. This song has some of my most favorite lines ever. Lines that routinely pop into my head and comfort me -- "Nothing's really helping, I've been thinking about drinking again." Yep.


You know, sometimes things just don't make good sense ... or do they? I can't believe my old jaded self is saying this but -- I know with all my heart that everything happens for a reason. It just does. Whether or not we choose to see the reason is up to us.


Happy Saturday!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page