top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Terrible Lie, Ninth Inch Nails, 1989


Sing it, Trent. Somebody owes me a big apology. Isn't it funny how some songs can serve us in so many different ways? This song is about religion, right? Maybe, maybe not. Today, this song is about the relentless, brutal, false narrative of the rat race. My, my, my, I do love Pretty Hate Machine.


I'm pushing 52 years old and still in the process of discovering my truth ... so, what do I know, right? Here's one thing I do know without a shadow of a doubt, though -- I've been fed some terrible lies. Working hard and doing a good job is important but it's not everything. Terrible lie.


Every single regret I have so far in life is directly related to the disparate amount of time/energy I've "spent" on my career. I'm not saying it was time "wasted" -- I'm choosing to say it was time "spent." Time well spent? No, absolutely not. I've "spent" so much time on work that I'm broke -- I'm busted -- I'm exhausted. I have nothing to show for it except time lost. I fell for the terrible lie hook, line, and sinker.


Yeah. Happy Monday!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page