top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Death Wish, Jason Isbell, 2023


Jason Isbell has a new album, Weathervanes, coming out in June. He's released a few teaser singles the past few months -- this one has become my new favorite Isbell song. This hook is everything. I know her ... that's the beauty of Isbell. Jack White dropped a cover of this song last week on IG and I'm living for it. Look it up.


It's no secret, I'm a pretty big Isbell fan. For those of us of a certain age, it's kind of an unspoken prerequisite of being from the Shoals, I think. He's part of our music family and we love and support him. We've watched him grow up and evolve for almost 20 years now. (Have you seen the new documentary "Running with Our Eyes Closed? Watch it.)


He just keeps setting the bar higher and higher for himself. Granted, I don't care for every single thing he's ever done -- I don't think he walks on water like some of his fans -- but he is pretty dang impressive. He's consistently a brilliant, honest lyricist. I think he's able to repeatedly top himself as a songwriter because he's experiencing life to its fullest in a complete state of awareness. He's soaking it all in like a sponge, taking it all to heart, and life just naturly continously enhances his essence. Goals.


Happy Saturday!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page