top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Lyin' Eyes, Eagles, 1975


I leaned hard on my comfort music stash this week. It's weird to think about how not everybody knows every word to every Eagles song. That blows my mind a little. Isn't it funny how we're all just walking around with our own unique narratives?


I love this song. It's beautiful with its simple storytelling and sing-a-long harmonies, but it makes me ache, too. Oh my goodness at these lyrics. This song makes me feel guilty. It makes me feel a little apologetic for past mistakes. Why is it I kinda sorta wanna live on the cheating side of town, though? What qualifies as cheating? I have questions.


I've been thinking a lot about how words have no inherent power yet can be so powerful. Pair a simple statement about "going out for the evening" with something like some "lyin' eyes" and bam(!), simple becomes complex pretty fast.


PS: Happy RSD, y'all!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page