top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day

Updated: May 19, 2021

Bad Seamstress Blues/Fallin’ Apart at the Seams, Cinderella, 1988


I’ve never been one to have tons of close friends. Sure, I know a lot of people I consider friends and I care deeply for them but it takes a special kind of chemistry for me to actually have a truly symbiotic friendship with someone.


It’s a mixed bag of emotions when a close friend is destined for greatness as a big fish in a big pond. The emotions are even more confusing when that friend is your boss.


I love this song for so many reasons. Not only does it have one of the greatest blues intros ever, I think it captures the adrenaline of 80s rock in a way that represents the era while still being timeless. I’m a pretty big Cinderella fan in general but this song is so special to me because Tom Keifer reveals his soul as a true artist. Sure, the composition has kept me coming back for more than 30 years but it’s the lyrics and his delivery that keep this song as one of my all-time favorites.


Things happen in life and we fall apart at the seams – we just do -- we come undone. It’s always struck me how even an unraveled seam can be stitched up and be good as new again to live another day.


This song is filled with references to time. There are so many adages about time for a reason – the passage of time is one thing that’s out of our control.  … time waits for no one … time is a thief. As long as we breath, seconds slip by and become the past. The only constant in life is change. For me, this is perhaps the most difficult truth to accept.


https://youtu.be/D7wdLAM1yjc


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page