top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Into the Mystic, Van Morrison, 1970


Yeah. I kind of love Van Morrison. You caught me, it's totally true. I love his warm, slightly marble-mouthed voice. He's a phenomenal songwriter, y'all. Although the height of his real-time popularity was before my time, I feel connected to his music. It moves me and soothes me.


It's not unusual for me to start the day with the Pixies or such and end it with some Van -- as was my Friday. I love how there's music for every mood. I love how music makes everything better or worse or whatever it is I need in the moment. This song fills me up with peace and I'm so grateful. This song is an escape.


Escape? Yes, please. Yesterday was a crazy amalgam of moods and sweet Van rescued me. Yep, yesterday very much happened. It didn't just happen like any other run-of-the-mill Friday, oh no, it happened in a very big scary way. It happened in a way that is a harbinger of more big scary happenings to come. Thank goodness I'm no stranger to drama and subsequent pivoting. I foresee more frequent day's end doses of Van in my future.


Happy Saturday!





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page